Another Food Experience.

It’s almost midnight and I can still taste my lunch. Not to say that it’s a bad thing. The original plan was for our posse to visit Langer’s Delicatessen. Our posse being myself, Nick Griffin & wife Sharlene, Mr. Devin Pedde, and my visiting friend Ashely Raue. Ashley is an amazing hair stylist, as well as a barista for Phoung at Lava Java. Anyway, if you haven’t heard of Langer’s you should check it out. Especially if you live in the Los Angeles area.

The only problem with our plan is that today was Yom Kippur. So, the place was closed. Leaving our bellies empty and our taste buds continuing to crave the sweet taste of rye bread, hot pastrami covered in cheese, and smothered in russian dressing. Disappointment covered our faces. Until… Nick thought of another famous LA hot spot that needed to be checked out.

This idea turned reality lead us to Pink’s. Now, I was born in Chicago and I work for a very Chicago based company. So, in my mind, I know hot dogs. I mean, my trip back in February taught me what a real hot dog was. Or so I thought…

The menu at Pink’s is unlike any other hot dog stand I have seen. Menu items included the Spider Man 3 (3 dogs, 3 slices of cheese, and 3 slices of bacon), the Lord of The Rings (a 12″ dog, barbecue sauce, and onion rings), and other themes (the Today Show Dog, The Real American Dog, the South of the Border Dog). I chose the Pastrami Burrito Dog. Picture two perfect hot dogs, pastrami, chili, and cheese all wrapped in a flour tortilla. It was heaven.

What made this meal significant was the conversation I had the night before with Kyle Glanville and Deanna Mustard. Last night, over a pint or two, we locked ourselves in the ongoing discussion of if we were on death row, and we were about to die, what would the last meal be? Well, today, I found my answer.

Leave a Reply

