Minneapolis (Prep Day)

The day is not done. Nor near it. I’m waiting for a few people to gather so we can head to the Nook and eat delicious burgers. The plan is to stuff myself now, and eat nothing but bananas and drink water in the morning. I compete 3rd, meaning, not a lot of fun tonight. My napkins are ironed. My cart is fairly-well loaded, and just needs some polishing. Still need to iron my clothing and table cloth. I’m definitely dehydrated. Hoping to remedy that before tomorrow. It’s been a long day.

Somehow, I was the first up at 8:00 this morning. We met quickly and moved my wares to the space. Devin and Nick followed with their stuff as well. We practiced and tasted shots. Thanks to everyone who contributed with feedback… 4 hours were spent recovering broken pieces and gathering milks and water. Near the end, Kyle said it best… “It feels like 8:30, the clock says 6:30, and at home it’s 4:30…” Our bodies are thrown. Bed time by 10 would be a dream… and I’ve got a couple hours to make that happen. It probably won’t, but a guy can dream.

On the up side, it’s great to see so many friends and fellow competitors. It’s going to be a fantastic weekend and I’m stoked to finish tomorrow, and party it up tomorrow night. My good friend, Jake, will be DJing the event. This means I will be dancing at some point… maybe alone in a corner, but it will happen.

If you are in MPS and can make it to the competition for the first hour, I recommend it. It will be banging… I know the first two competitors well and they won’t let you down… and I’ll do my best as well. See you soon…

2 thoughts on “Minneapolis (Prep Day)

  1. Thanks for the updates, Ryan. Hope you found some calm in the midst of the storm. Do your best today – present your coffee in a way only you know how.

  2. and don’t think getting 4 into the semis is going to cut it. i expect 4 in the finals!

Leave a Reply

