Beer. The Other Everyday Drink.

As a barista, there are two things I love deeply. First, of course, coffee. Second, the vice, beer. My Northwest roots and experience in Minneapolis taught me a lot about beer. I love hops, love things brewed by monks, love beers fermented using open fermentation, I love stouts, I love hops, love the occassional Guiness, and I love hops. When I arrived here, I asked Tonx and K. Gizz (Kyle Glanville) where I could get good beer. The answer was nothing short of depressing for this hop head.

Now, a year and a half later, things are slightly changing and improving on the beer front. 4 new bars have given me hope. New breweries have opened giving better local ale. I’ve written about a couple of them for the New Angeles monthly. This month, I’ll be writing about the third.

I’ll save the full details for the review, but if you are in Los Angeles… and happen to be forced into Hollywood, I first offer my apologies for having to witness the worst of what America has to offer… Then I say, find your way as quickly as possible to the Blue Palms Brew House and settle into a comfy bar stool.

The Intelligentsia crew has officially taken up residence at El Prado. This bar has been around for years, but only recently has it become a safe place to hang out. Back in the day, it was known for comon knife fights, brauls, and other violent outbursts. These days it’s a great place to stop for a nice Belgian.

My favorite bar in Los Angeles is probably the Verdugo. With 30-something taps, all rotating, there’s almost always a reason to stop in. The goal there it to not only carry different and odd beers, but to build relationshops with breweries to get exclusive kegs. Plus, they have beer pong on their back patio. Tomorrow, Verdugo will be kicking off it’s first Oktoberfest. Beer pong, boot races, brauts, and giant mugs of German beer will be happening… Another nice factor is the place is less than half a mile from the LA Roasting Works. So, post-competition training activities will definitely insue this year.

The fourth is less bar and more restaurant… Which is unfortunate at times. Plus, it’s a vegan place. Initially, they were pushing how they had “vegan” beer. BS. Anyway, the menu is sometimes impressive, and other times more novelty than truly great beer, but it’s close to our cafe… and sometimes a non-animal product burrito is just better with a trappist ale.

Well, I should get to writing that article. If you’re in LA, now you know where to go, so you don’t waiste your time.

3 thoughts on “Beer. The Other Everyday Drink.

  1. Dude, have you checked out Fathers Office in SM or Downtown? Stuffed Sandwich (odd, but intensely selected) in San Gabriel? Blair’s in Silverlake? The Otherroom in Venice? Weilands? Third Stop? The York? The Village Idiot? Library Bar? Verdugo is a solid bet, to be sure, but LA has many MANY other places if you’re looking to satisfy the hoppy addiction. (And if you’re really looking for an odd time, the Chinese beer bars in Monterey Park. Super Shady, but kinda awesome.)

    Although, as an Angeleno, please. WE apologise for the crazy in Hollywood, although the laugh factor of watching the tourists at H&H is always a sure bet…

  2. I have been to most of those places, and the problem is they have the same old shit. Blaire’s is a travesty for beer… messy lines, low rotation. The thing people seem to be missing over-all here, is that good beer means more than just a keg of some Trappist ale.

  3. Ditto on Steves suggestion for Father’s Office and Stuffed Sandwich, both great places.

    Two other spots, certainly not central to Hollywood:
    Naja’s Place in Redondo Beach
    Lucky Baldwin’s (my favorite) in Pasadena

    Lastly, I haven’t been here but was told that The Daily Pint in SM is small but pretty good for beer.

    jh

Leave a Reply

