Blended Out.

While I was in Portland, I heard several comments from people that got the gears turning a bit more about single origin espresso vs. a blend. A few times I heard people make comments about how a particular single origin had maybe been sweet, but now is spicy… but how it’s always delicious. Follow that up, though, with how it’s great, but how it isn’t too universal because it’s not as complex as a blend.

At the new Intelligentsia store in Venice, there are two grinders for every barista. One, hold black cat, and the other, holds a single origin coffee. The single origins haven’t been coffee that was roasted in any special way for espresso, rather, they are production roasts. We’ve followed that now in the Silverlake store. I held a tasting, the other day, with a few of the guys that I work with. We tasted all the coffees that we were serving as brewed coffee, but we pulled them as espresso.

As we went through the line up we discussed each coffee. Talking about where the coffee comes from, how is it processed. What about the origin of the coffee was affecting the flavors we were experiencing. We talked a ton about temperature and its effect on flavor.

I chose to set the machine (A Synesso) at 201.5 degrees Fahrenheit. My dose was low, as I was aiming for around 18 grams in a (Synesso) triple basket. The espresso ran between 21 and 29 seconds (varying between the 4 coffees). Each coffee had such unique character. So many flavors emerged throughout the experience, from craisins, red delcious apple, maple, figs, smokey bbq, meyer lemon, bubble gum, watermelon candy, and the list goes on…

The thing that was consistent about the tasting what how easily perceptable the flavors were. The layers of flavor were absolutely lovely in each coffee. Nothing tasted bad. The espressos that were rough, we held discussions around how we could improve the extraction (be it temperature, grind, dose, etc. ).

It got me thinking more about what I had heard before… Does an espresso need to be complex? What’s wrong with a coffee that is easy to explain? It’s almost like a barista competition, where I’d rather have one coffee to fill my customers in on than to have 3 or 4 to try to share about. There’s a part of me that is a constant coffee evangelist… and that’s the part that goes crazy for single origin espresso. I get tired of the conversations where I ask someone what’s in their coffee and I get the standard response, “It’s a Brazil, a little Sumatra, and an Ethiopia.” Okay… well, what Brazil? Where’s that Sumatra from? and where’d you get that Ethiopia? I wanna know!

In the end, the biggest reason why I love single origin coffee so much is because those are the espressos I remember. Call me Morrissey, but if there are only 10-15 good espressos I’ve had in my life, then probably 3 have been from a blend.

One thought on “Blended Out.

  1. If coffee was candy, you guys would be blessed to work in a candy store. Super exciting news about the new sourcing program and I imagine it’s also a blast to test the waters with all your lots on the synesso. I kinda love what James is talking about in espresso as another brewing process in which we can have bizarre expectations that are uncharacteristic of that coffee. Yet, we also have the opportunity to experience that coffee in its distinction and appreciate it for what it is and not what we might expect “espresso” to taste like… wish I live in LA sometimes

Leave a Reply

